صحفي: نيوزيلندا تأخذ زمام الرياضة للنساء والفتيات في جميع أنحاء العالم

حصة هذه المادة

مجموعة العمل الدولية (IWG) حول أمانة المرأة والرياضة والمؤتمر 2018-22 الآن في نيوزيلندا.

 

الصورة: نساء في Sport Aotearoa ، نيوزيلندا ، الرئيسة المشاركة جولي باترسون (أقصى اليسار) و IWG سكرتير الجنرال راشيل فروغت (الثاني من اليمين) مع الرئيسين المشاركين لـ IWG روث مابوريسا من بوتسوانا وراوين لوفيت من نيوزيلندا (في الوسط) وأعضاء في أمانة بوتسوانا IWG 2014-2018. 

نيوزيلندا هي الآن الدولة المضيفة الرسمية ل مجموعة العمل الدولية (IWG) حول أمانة المرأة والرياضة والمؤتمر 2018-2022. خلال حدث في أوكلاند الليلة الماضية ، تم تسليم الريادة العالمية لتطوير الرياضة للنساء والفتيات على المستوى الدولي نساء في الرياضة أوتياروا ، نيوزيلندا. راوين لوفيت ONZM صعدت رسميا في دورها كما IWG الرئيس المشارك.

اجتمع أكثر من 50 من كبار القادة من مختلف القطاعات الرياضية والتجارية والحكومية في سرب اليخت الملكي النيوزيلندي للمساعدة في تحديد هذه اللحظة الرئيسية في الرياضة النيوزيلندية. تم ترويض المضيفين السابقين ، بوتسوانا ، بعد زيارة ناجحة استغرقت ثلاثة أيام وزيارة موقع أوكلاند.

راوين لوفيت ONZM ، الرئيس المشارك للفريق العامل ما بين الدورات قال: "قبل 125 عامًا بالضبط هذا الأسبوع ، أصبحت نيوزيلندا أول بلد يمنح المرأة حق التصويت. توقيتها المذهل الآن هو تولي الدولة المضيفة لمجموعة العمل الدولية المعنية بالمرأة والرياضة والمؤتمر 2018-2022 ".

"هناك زخم كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم حول إدراج النوع في الرياضة وفي نيوزيلندا ، نشهد تغيراً إيجابياً ، لكن يجب أن يكون أسرع بكثير. سوف يمنح IWG زخماً حقيقياً لقطاع الرياضة في نيوزيلندا لأننا نحتاج إلى أن نصبح رواد العالم بحلول ذلك الوقت المؤتمر العالمي IWG 2022".

ستتولى وكالة Women in Sport Aotearoa ، نيوزيلندا ، التشغيل اليومي لأمانة IWG ، مع واجبات بما في ذلك تسليم الخطة الاستراتيجية IWG والعالمية برامج الدعوة، ودعم ل الأعضاء التنفيذيين IWG (المجلس العالمي) والإشراف الشامل على 550+ من المنظمات والأفراد الذين وقعوا إعلان برايتون عن المرأة في الرياضة. تم تحديث الإعلان في هلسنكي 2014 والهدف الأهم هو تطوير ثقافة رياضية تمكن وتقدر المشاركة الكاملة للمرأة في كل جانب من جوانب الرياضة. تشمل الدول الرئيسية الموقعة على الإعلان اللجان الدولية للألعاب الأولمبية وأولمبياد المعاقين (IOC / IPC) والاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (FIFA). 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ستقدم "نساء في الرياضة" Aotearoa ، نيوزيلندا المؤتمر العالمي الثامن المعني بالمرأة والرياضة ، IWG ، أوكلاند 2022، جلب أكثر من 1500 من كبار صناع القرار والمؤثرين من الرياضة العالمية ، والأعمال التجارية والحكومية إلى أوكلاند في غضون أربع سنوات من الزمن للتقدم في حالة اللعب. إنه المؤتمر العالمي الأكثر احتراماً حول الرياضة والنشاط البدني للنساء والفتيات.

راشيل فروغت ، الأمين العام لجمعية العمل الدولية قالت "Women and Sport in Sport Aotearoa" ، رئيس مجلس الإدارة التنفيذي في نيوزيلندا: "لقد كان التسليم مع بوتسوانا رائعًا ، وإنه لشرف حقيقي أن أتولى تسليم أمانة IWG والمؤتمر 2018-2022. نساء في الرياضة ستلعب Aotearoa دورًا مزدوجًا: لدينا خطط مهمة على قدم وساق لتحسين الفرص المتاحة للنساء والفتيات للمشاركة والتنافس وبناء المهن في الرياضة النيوزيلندية ، مع أخذ نيوزيلندا على الساحة العالمية كصوت تدريجي للمساواة بين الجنسين في جميع جوانب الرياضة. "

بدأت زيارة التسليم والموقع يوم السبت باستقبال رسمي من القيادة القبلية لنغيتي ووتوا عراكي ، بما في ذلك جو هاوك MNZM ، بدعم من وزير الرياضة والترفيه النيوزيلندي جرانت روبرتسون. تبع ذلك سلسلة Netball Quad Series ثم يوم من الاجتماعات الرسمية. في يوم الإثنين ، قام الوفد بجولة في أوكلاند لفهم الفرص السياحية لمندوبي المؤتمر بشكل أفضل ، تلتها زيارة إلى AUT Millennium ولقاء وتحية مع صاحبة الميدالية الأولمبية للمعاقين ريبيكا دوببر والحائزة على الميدالية الأولمبية وألعاب الكومنولث تريسي لامبريش. وأعقب هذا الحدث ، خلالها روث مابوريسا ، الرئيس المشارك لمجموعة IWGألقى خطابًا مقنعًا حول المساواة ، معلنا "لا ينبغي أن يُترك أحد".

كما استغلت الحدث "Women in Sport Aotearoa" ، نيوزيلندا ، الفرصة للإعلان عن تعيين عضوين جديدين في مجلس الإدارة لتشكيلة رائعة بالفعل ، مع انضمام مديري الرياضة المحترمين ليز داوسون إم بي إي وجيمس جيبسون إلى صفوف الفريق. تُعد داوسون شخصية رائدة في مجال الحوكمة الرياضية ، حيث أصبحت أول رئيسة تنفيذية لنادي دوري الرجبي الأسترالي ، أديلايد رامز ، قبل أن تتولى أدوار قيادية في فرق Super Rugby و NRL و AFL و New Zealand Cricket و NZOC. جيبسون هي مدافعة معروفة عن الرياضة النسائية ، وقد بنت مهنة ناجحة في جميع المجالات الرياضية ، وأصبحت مؤخرًا الرئيس التنفيذي لسير بيتر بليك ترست.

المؤتمر العالمي الثامن لمجموعة العمل الدولية IWG

Get involved online or in New Zealand, May 2022

إعلان برايتون

تعرف على كيفية تأييد هذه المعاهدة العالمية واستخدامها

INSIGHT HUB: RESEARCH & CASE STUDIES

قم بتنزيل مواد مفيدة للمساعدة في دعم عملك

IWG GLOBAL PROGRAMS

اقرأ عن العمل الذي تقوم به IWG عالميًا

MAJOR PARTNERS

OFFICIAL SUPPORTERS

FUNDING PARTNERS

OFFICIAL SUPPLIERS

FRIENDS & ALLIES

RELEASE: New Zealand takes the reins for women and girls sport globally

Share this article

The International Working Group (IWG) on Women and Sport Secretariat & Conference 2018-22 now in New Zealand.

 

Photo: Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand, Co-Chair Julie Paterson (far left) and IWG Secretary General Rachel Froggatt (second from right) with IWG Co-Chairs Ruth Maphorisa of Botswana and Raewyn Lovett of New Zealand (centre) and members of the IWG Botswana Secretariat 2014-2018. 

New Zealand is now the official host nation for the International Working Group (IWG) on Women and Sport Secretariat and Conference 2018-2022. During an event in Auckland last night, the global lead for the development of sport for women and girls internationally was handed to Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand. Raewyn Lovett ONZM officially stepped into her role as IWG Co-Chair.

More than 50 senior leaders from across sport, business and government gathered together at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron to help mark this key moment in New Zealand sport. Previous hosts, Botswana, were also farewelled after a successful 3-day hand-over and Auckland site visit.

Raewyn Lovett ONZM, IWG Co-Chair said: “Exactly 125 years ago this week, New Zealand became the first country to give women the vote. Its incredible timing to now be taking over as host nation for the International Working Group on Women and Sport Secretariat and Conference 2018-2022.”

“There is huge momentum worldwide around gender inclusion in sport and in New Zealand, we are seeing positive change, but it has to be much faster. The IWG will give the New Zealand sport sector real impetus because we need to become world leading by the time of the IWG World Conference 2022.”

The agency Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand, will take over the daily operation of the IWG Secretariat, with duties including delivery of the IWG Strategic Plan and global advocacy programmes, support for the IWG Executive Members (Global Board) and overall stewardship of the 550+ organisations and individuals that have signed the Brighton Declaration on Women in Sport. The Declaration was updated at Helsinki 2014 and the overriding aim is to develop a sporting culture that enables and values the full involvement of women in every aspect of sport. Major signatories to the Declaration include the International Olympic and Paralympic Committees (IOC/IPC) and FIFA. 

In addition, Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand, will deliver the 8th IWG World Conference on Women and Sport, Auckland 2022, bringing over 1500 senior decision-makers and influencers from global sport, business and government into Auckland in four years’ time to progress the state of play. It is the most respected world conference on sport and physical activity for women and girls.

Rachel Froggatt, IWG Secretary General and Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand, CEO, said: “The handover with Botswana has been fascinating and it’s a real privilege to take over delivery of the IWG Secretariat and Conference 2018-2022. Women in Sport Aotearoa will play a dual role: we have significant plans afoot to improve opportunities for women and girls to participate, compete and build careers in New Zealand sport, whilst also taking New Zealand onto the world stage as a progressive voice for gender equality in all aspects of sport.”

The hand-over and site visit began on Saturday with an official welcome from the tribal leadership of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, including Joe Hawke MNZM, supported by New Zealand Sport & Recreation Minister Grant Robertson. This was followed by the Netball Quad Series and then a day of official meetings. On Monday the delegation took a tour of Auckland to better understand tourist opportunities for the conference delegates, followed by a visit to the AUT Millennium and a meet and greet with Paralympic medallist Rebecca Dubber and Olympian and Commonwealth Games medallist Tracy Lambrechs. This was followed by the event, during which IWG Co-Chair for Botswana, Ruth Maphorisa, gave a compelling speech around equality, declaring “no one should be left behind.”

Women in Sport Aotearoa, New Zealand, also used the event as an opportunity to announce the appointment of two new Board members to its already impressive line-up, with respected sports administrators Liz Dawson MBE and James Gibson joining the ranks. Dawson is a recognised as a trailblazer for women in sport governance, becoming the first female CEO of an Australian rugby league club, the Adelaide Rams, before going on to have leading roles with Super Rugby, NRL and AFL teams, New Zealand Cricket and the NZOC. Gibson is a known women’s sport advocate and has built a successful career across commercial aspects sport, recently becoming Chief Executive of the Sir Peter Blake Trust.

BRIGHTON DECLARATION

Find out how to endorse and use this global treaty

8th IWG WORLD CONFERENCE

Plan your trip to Auckland, New Zealand, in May 2022

IWG HUB: RESEARCH & CASE STUDIES

Download useful materials to help support your work

IWG GLOBAL PROGRAMMES

Read about the work the IWG carries out globally

Partners

Suppliers

Supporters