لوائح DSD: IWG و WSI و IAPESGW ترد على خطاب من IAAF

حصة هذه المادة

استجابت IWG و WSI و IAPESGW اليوم لرسالة من الرابطة الدولية لاتحادات ألعاب القوى (IAAF) ، حيث تواصلت المراسلات المفتوحة فيما يتعلق بقرار IAAF لتقييد مستويات هرمون تستوستيرون لدى المتسابقات الإناث وفرض استخدام مثبطات التستوستيرون والاختبار.

البيان المجمع: 30 يونيو 2019

مجموعة العمل الدولية (IWG) المعنية بالمرأة والرياضة

نسائي الرياضة الدولية (WSI)

الرابطة الدولية للتربية البدنية للبنات والنساء (IAPESGW)

===

كتبت IWG و WSI و IAPESGW لأول مرة إلى IAAF في 30 مايو 2019 - اقرأ هذه الرسالة هنا

أجاب IAAF في 4 يونيو 2019 - يمكن قراءة هذا الرد هنا

التالية المناقشات على مستوى مجلس الإدارة لجميع المنظمات الثلاث ، في شهري يونيو ويوليو ، استجابت IWG و WSI و IAPESGW على النحو التالي:

===

30 حزيران (يونيو) 2019: قررنا أن نعيد الكتابة مرة أخرى لإبلاغنا بأن موقفنا لم يتغير. يبقى وجهة نظرنا الجماعية أن لوائح DSD تمييزية. نحن لا ندعم إجبار رياضي على تناول الدواء لتغيير حالته الطبيعية. ما زلنا نعتقد أنه يتم معاقبة الرياضيين المتأثرين بسبب صفاتهم البيولوجية ، التي لا يتحكمون فيها ، وبالتالي تنتهك حقوقهم الإنسانية.

علاوة على ذلك ، نود توضيح بعض النقاط التي أثارتها:

أولا ، IAAF هو الموقع على إعلان برايتون عن المرأة والرياضةالتي تخضع لأحكام المساواة في ميثاق الأمم المتحدة والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وإعلان برلين (UNESCO MINEPS V) واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

في رسالتك ، تقول إنه "كهيئة خاصة تمارس صلاحيات (تعاقدية) خاصة ، [IAAF] بالتالي لا تخضع لصكوك حقوق الإنسان". وبتنحية الاعتراض الأخلاقي الذي لدينا لدينا مع أي كيان يتخذ مثل هذا المنصب ، المبدأ 1 ( أ) يتم تطبيقها في سياق كامل إعلان برايتون بلس هلسنكي 2014. إن نطاق الإعلان موجه إلى "جميع الحكومات ، والسلطات العامة ، والمؤسسات ، والمؤسسات التجارية ، والمؤسسات التعليمية والبحثية ، والمنظمات النسائية والأفراد المسؤولين ، أو الذين يؤثرون بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر ، في سلوك الرياضة أو تطويرها أو الترويج لها النشاط البدني أو الذين يشاركون بأي طريقة في توظيف أو تعليم أو إدارة أو تدريب أو تنمية أو رعاية المرأة في الرياضة والنشاط البدني. "

يعمل النطاق وجميع أجزاء الإعلان الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الخلفية والأهداف ، مع المبادئ ، بما في ذلك المبدأ 1 (أ). عند التوقيع على الإعلان ، يلتزم الموقعون - بما في ذلك IAAF - بجميع الأجزاء. وبالتالي ، فإننا نعتبر أن IAAF ملتزم بصكوك حقوق الإنسان هذه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن حكومتك في موناكو هي إحدى الدول الموقعة على مختلف معاهدات حقوق الإنسان العالمية ، وبالتالي فقد التزمت بكل هذه نيابة عن جميع الكيانات العاملة داخل حدود الإمارة.

ثانياً ، سبب اعتقادنا بأن لوائح DSD تفرض عدم المساواة بين الجنسين هو أنها لا تنطبق بشكل متساوٍ على الرياضيين من الذكور والإناث. تواصل IWG و WSI و IAPESGW السعي نحو عالم يتلقى فيه الرجال والنساء معاملة متساوية في الرياضة والنشاط البدني. في هذا ، نعرّف المساواة على أنها رجال ونساء يتلقون نفس القدر من الاحترام ويكونون قادرين على المنافسة أو المشاركة في بيئة متساوية ، مع مطابقة النظم والهياكل ومستويات الاستثمار.

لنكون واضحين ، نحن لا نسعى جاهدين نحو عالم يتنافس فيه الرجال والنساء ضد بعضهم البعض. ومع ذلك ، نعتقد اعتقادا راسخا أنه ينبغي أن تكون المرأة قادرة على التدريب والمنافسة في نفس المرافق التي يتمتع بها الرجل ، وأن تتلقى نفس المستوى من التدريب والاستثمار الذي يحصل عليه الرجل ، وأن تحصل على نفس القدر من التغطية الإعلامية والجوائز التي يحصل عليها الرجال - فقط بعض أوجه عدم المساواة الموجودة في الرياضة.

تتعارض قوانين DSD بشكل مباشر مع نظام الاعتقاد الجماعي الخاص بنا ، باعتباره وكالات عالمية رائدة في مجال الدعوة الجنسانية في الرياضة والنشاط البدني. لتنظيم التستوستيرون فقط في الرياضات ، وليس الرياضيين الذكور ، يخلق عدم المساواة بين الجنسين في الرياضة. يخلق وضعا حيث يعتبر التستوستيرون العالي في الأنثى ميزة غير عادلة ، في حين أن التستوستيرون العالي في الذكر هو ميزة تنافسية.

ثالثًا ، لا نوافق على تصريحك بأن لوائح DSD لن تجبر أي رياضي على تناول الدواء. أنت تنصح بأن موافقة الرياضيين مضمنة في اللوائح ، لكن بالنظر إلى أن الخيار هو أخذ الدواء أو منعه من المنافسة ، فهذا ليس موافقة حقيقية. لا توجد أدلة كافية على الآثار العقلية والبدنية الطويلة الأجل لمثل هذا الدواء على جسم الإنسان ، وبالتالي نعتقد اعتقادا قويا أن فرض تدخل طبي ينتهك بشكل مباشر حقوقهم الإنسانية.

أخيرًا ، نتفق على أن الرياضة يجب أن تستند إلى علم الأحياء وليس الهوية. لم ندعو أبدًا الفرد إلى أن يكون لديه القدرة على تحديد هويته في فئة منافسة أو حدث ولن يفعل ذلك أبدًا. ومع ذلك ، سوف نستمر في الجدال بقوة بأن أي رياضي يجب أن يكون قادرًا على التنافس في حالته البيولوجية الطبيعية ، وليس في دولة تفرض عليها من قبل طرف ثالث - في هذه الحالة اتحاد رياضي.

نحن نشجع بقوة الاتحاد الدولي لألعاب القوى على العمل من أجل التوصل إلى حل عادل لدعم الرياضيين المولودين بفرط النشاط ، دون تدخل طبي ودون انتهاك حقوق الإنسان ، لخلق مستقبل متساو للرجال والنساء في الرياضة والنشاط البدني. نطلب بكل احترام أن يقوم IAAF بتوسيع استشارته العالمية بما يتجاوز الاستشارات ذات الخلفية الطبية في المقام الأول ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أيضًا تضمين مجموعة كاملة من وجهات النظر من منظور أخلاقي واجتماعي ، لضمان صورة كاملة للخيارات المتاحة. نظرًا لأهمية هذا الموضوع والتأثير طويل المدى الذي سيتركه ، من المهم ضمان المشاركة الكاملة للخبراء من المصادر الأكاديمية والصحية المتنوعة ، ولكن السليمة بيولوجيا.

إذا لم تكن متصلاً بالفعل ، فنحن نوصي بشكل خاص بعمل الخبراء التاليين:

  • الدكتورة كاترينا كركازيس ، أستاذة في مركز أخلاقيات الطب الحيوي بجامعة ستانفورد. 
  • معايان سوداي ، زميل في برنامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والمجتمع في مدرسة هارفارد كينيدي ومرشح لجامعة سان جورج في كلية الحقوق بجامعة هارفارد.
  • الدكتورة ستيفان بيرمون دكتوراه ومديرة ، أخصائية في الطب الرياضي ، معهد مونتيك دو ميديكين دو سبورت ، موناكو.
  • Giuseppe Lippi، - Diagnostica Ematochimica، Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria di Parma، Italy. 

لدينا أيضًا عدد من الأسماء الأخرى وتفاصيل الاتصال التي يسعدنا تقديمها عند الطلب.

تم توقيع الرسالة من قبل:

راوين لوفيت ONZM ، الرئيس المشارك لمجموعة العمل الدولية (IWG) المعنية بالمرأة والرياضة

ديان هوفمان ، رئيسة منظمة WomenSport International (WSI)

البروفيسور روزا لوبيز دي داميكو ، رئيس الرابطة الدولية للتربية البدنية والرياضة للبنات والنساء (IAPESGW)

==

مجموعة العمل الدولية (IWG) المعنية بالمرأة والرياضة هي أكبر شبكة في العالم تكرس جهودها لتمكين وتحقيق المساواة بين النساء والفتيات من خلال الرياضة والنشاط البدني. تم تأسيسها في البداية المؤتمر العالمي IWG في برايتون، المملكة المتحدة ، في عام 1994 ويبقى الوصي على برايتون بلس إعلان هلسنكي عن المرأة والرياضة.

نسائي الرياضة الدولية (WSI) تم تشكيلها لمواجهة التحدي المتمثل في ضمان تلقي الرياضة والنشاط البدني الاهتمام والأولوية التي تستحقها في حياة الفتيات والنساء. WSI هي منظمة قائمة على القضايا والعمل مع أعضاء يمثلون أكثر من 30 دولة.

الرابطة الدولية للتربية البدنية والرياضة للبنات والنساء (IAPESGW) تدعم أعضائها العاملين في مجال الرياضة والتربية البدنية للنساء والفتيات ، وتوفر فرصًا للتطوير المهني والتعاون الدولي. IAPESGW لديها أعضاء في جميع القارات الخمس وأكثر من 40 دولة. 

إعلان برايتون

تعرف على كيفية تأييد هذه المعاهدة العالمية واستخدامها

المؤتمر العالمي الثامن لمجموعة العمل الدولية IWG

خطط لرحلتك إلى أوكلاند ، نيوزيلندا ، في مايو 2022

IWG HUB: دراسات البحوث والقضايا

قم بتنزيل مواد مفيدة للمساعدة في دعم عملك

IWG GLOBAL PROGRAMS

اقرأ عن العمل الذي تقوم به IWG عالميًا

شركاء

الموردين

أنصار

DSD regulations: IWG, WSI and IAPESGW respond to letter from IAAF

Share this article

IWG, WSI and IAPESGW have today responded to a letter from the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), continuing the open correspondence with regard to the decision by IAAF to restrict testosterone levels in female runners and enforce the use of testosterone suppressants and testing.

COMBINED STATEMENT: 30 June 2019

The International Working Group (IWG) on Women & Sport

WomenSport International (WSI)

International Association of Physical Education for Girls and Women (IAPESGW)

===

The IWG, WSI and IAPESGW first wrote to the IAAF on 30 May 2019 – read this letter here

The IAAF then responded on 4 June 2019 – this response can be read here

Following discussions at the Board level of all three organisations, in June and July, IWG, WSI and IAPESGW have responded as follows:

===

30 June 2019: We have decided to write again jointly to advise that our position remains unchanged. It remains our collective view that the DSD regulations are discriminatory. We do not support forcing an athlete to take medication to alter their natural state. We still believe that affected athletes are being penalised for their biological traits, over which they have no control, thus infringing their human rights.

Further to this, we would like to clarify some of the points you have raised:

Firstly, the IAAF is a Signatory to the Brighton Declaration on Women & Sport, which does subject it to the equality provisions of the Charter of the United Nations, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, the Declaration of Berlin (UNESCO MINEPS V) and the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.

In your letter, you say that as “a private body exercising private (contractual) powers, [IAAF] therefore is not subject to human rights instruments.” Putting aside the moral objection we have with any entity taking such a position, Principle 1(a) is applied in the context of the entire Brighton plus Helsinki 2014 Declaration. The Scope of the Declaration is addressed to “all those governments, public authorities, organisations, business, educational and research establishments, women’s organisations and individuals who are responsible for, or who directly or indirectly influence, the conduct, development or promotion of sport and physical activity or who are in any way involved in the employment, education, management, training, development or care of women in sport and physical activity.”

The Scope and all other parts of the Declaration, including Background and Aims, work together with the Principles, including Principle 1(a). When signing the Declaration, Signatories – including the IAAF – commit to all parts. Thus, we do consider the IAAF to be bound to these human rights instruments. In addition to this, your government of Monaco is a Signatory to various global human rights treaties and thus, has committed to all these on behalf of all entities operating within its Principality borders.

Secondly, the reason that we believe the DSD regulations enforce gender inequality is because they do not apply equally to male and female athletes. IWG, WSI and IAPESGW continue to strive toward a world in which men and women receive equal treatment in sport and physical activity. In this, we define equality as men and women receiving the equal amount of respect and being able to compete or participate in an equal environment, with matching systems, structures and levels of investment.

To be clear, we are not striving toward a world in which men and women compete against one another. However, we do strongly believe that women should be able to train and compete in the same facilities as men, receive the same level of coaching and investment as men, and receive the same amount of media coverage and prizemoney as men – just some of inequalities existing in sport.

The DSD regulations go directly against our collective belief system, as the leading global gender advocacy agencies in sport and physical activity. To only regulate testosterone in female athletes, not male athletes, creates gender inequality in sport. It creates a situation where high testosterone in a female is considered an unfair advantage, whereas high testosterone in a male is a competitive edge.

Thirdly, we disagree with your statement that the DSD regulations will not force an athlete to take medication. You advise that athlete consent is in-built into the regulations but given that the choice is to take the medication or be barred from competing, this is not true consent. There is not enough evidence about the long-term mental and physical effects of such medication on the human body, thus we strongly believe mandating medical intervention directly infringes upon their human rights.

Finally, we agree that sport should be based upon biology, not identity. We have never advocated for an individual to have an ability to self-identify into a competition category or an event and never will. However, we will continue to strongly argue that an athlete should be able to compete in their natural biological state, not in a state enforced upon them by a third party – in this case a sporting federation.

We strongly encourage the IAAF to work toward a fair solution to support born hyperandrogenic athletes, without medical intervention and without infringing human rights, to create an equal future for men and women in sport and physical activity. We respectfully request that the IAAF widen its global consultation beyond those of a primarily medical background, also considering and including a full range of viewpoints from an ethical and sociological perspective, to ensure a full picture of options available. Given the importance of this topic and the long-ranging impact it will have, it is important to ensure full involvement of experts from diverse, yet biomedically sound academic and health sources.

If you are not already connected, we particularly recommend the work of the following experts:

  • Dr Katrina Karkazis, Professor at the Centre for Biomedical Ethics at Stanford University. 
  • Maayan Sudai, fellow at the Program on Science, Technology, and Society at Harvard Kennedy School and an S.J.D. Candidate at Harvard Law School.
  • Dr Stephane Bermon PhD and MD, specialist in sports medicine, Institut Monégasque de Médecine du Sport, Monaco.
  • Giuseppe Lippi, – Diagnostica Ematochimica, Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria di Parma, Italy. 

We also have a number of other names and contact details we would be happy to provide on request.

The letter was signed by:

Raewyn Lovett ONZM, Co-Chair of the International Working Group (IWG) on Women & Sport

Diane Huffman, President of WomenSport International (WSI)

Professor Rosa Lopez de D’Amico, President of the International Association of Physical Education & Sport for Girls and Women (IAPESGW)

==

The International Working Group (IWG) on Women & Sport is the world’s largest network dedicating to empowering and achieving equity for women and girls through sport and physical activity. It was established at the first IWG World Conference in Brighton, UK, in 1994 and remains guardian of the Brighton plus Helsinki Declaration on Women & Sport.

WomenSport International (WSI) was formed to meet the challenge of ensuring that sport and physical activity receive the attention and priority they deserve in the lives of girls and women. WSI is both an issues and action based organization with members representing over 30 countries.

International Association of Physical Education & Sport for Girls and Women (IAPESGW) supports its members working for women’s and girls’ sport and physical education, and provides opportunities for professional development and international cooperation. IAPESGW has members in all five continents and more than 40 countries. 

BRIGHTON DECLARATION

Find out how to endorse and use this global treaty

8th IWG WORLD CONFERENCE

Plan your trip to Auckland, New Zealand, in May 2022

IWG HUB: RESEARCH & CASE STUDIES

Download useful materials to help support your work

IWG GLOBAL PROGRAMMES

Read about the work the IWG carries out globally

Partners

Suppliers

Supporters